Professor Stanley Henig

Chair of trustees

Stanley Henig was Professor of European Politics at the University of Central Lancashire and Head of the Department of Politics and European Studies. Author or editor of ten books on European and British Politics: the most recent was Federalism and the British published by the Federal Trust. He has also written extensively on operatic performance including co-authoring a book on Enrico Caruso.  He was a Member of Parliament from 1966 to 1970 and Leader of Lancaster City Council during the 1990s. He was also Chairman of the Royal Northern College of Music and Deputy Pro-Chancellor of the University of Lancaster.

Terry Bishop

Deputy Chair of trustees

Terry has degrees in economics and psychology and held senior posts in colleges of the University of London including University College London and Birkbeck. He was also Registrar and Director of Institutional Development at the School of Oriental and African Studies and maintains interests in Asia and Africa including being a Founder Member and committee member of the British Egyptian Society. He was also Deputy Chairman of the national UK European Movement.

Angus Sladen

Honorary Treasurer

Born in 1950 , educated Stowe and the University of Texas at Austin . Career in the City , at Lloyd’s , where he  was the CEO of a managing agent of several Lloyd’s syndicates . After the sale of the business he has been a consultant and non executive director for several Lloyd’s and  London Market insurance businesses. A trustee of several charities. Married with three children.

David Grace

Honorary Secretary

David has been Vice-Chairman of the European Movement, President of Young European Federalists and Secretary of Federal Union. He worked as Director of the European Association of Regions of Technology and Innovation and as Head of the European Union office of BirdLife International.

Dr Richard Corbett MEP

Richard was Leader of the Labour members of the European Parliament, part of the centre left Socialists and Democrats group. He was first elected as an MEP in 1996 and represented Yorkshire and Humber with an interruption from 2009 to 2014 when he was advisor to the President of the European Council, Herman van Rompuy. He was also Vice-President of the UK European Movement and Chair in the European Parliament of the Labour Movement for Europe. Richard has authored or co-authored a number of books including:

The European Union: How does it work? (with Professors John Peterson and Dan Kennea),

The European Parliament (with Francis Jacobs and Darren Neville (9th edition 2016),

The Treaty of Maastricht: from conception to ratification (1993),

and The European Parliament’s role in Closer European Integration (1996) (based on his doctoral thesis).

Professor Tamara K Hervey

Tamara is Jean Monnet ad personam Professor of European Union Law at the University of Sheffield, UK. She researches, teaches, and writes in European Union social and constitutional law, in particular its application in health fields; on equality law; on interfaces between biosciences and (European) law; on social rights; on legal research methodologies “beyond the state”; on legal pedagogy; and on global health law. She is currently working on post-Brexit health governance and its (lack of) legitimacy.

Professor Adrian Pabst

Adrian is Professor of Politics in the School of Politics and International Relations at the University of Kent where he directs the Centre for Federal Studies. He is also currently the Head of School. His research is at the interface of political theory, political economy and European Politics – with a focus on federal alternatives to unitary states. Among his publications are several essay collections, including The Crisis of Global Capitalism (Wipf & Stock, 2012) and Blue Labour: Forging a New Politics (I.B.Tauris, 2015). His monographs include The Politics of Virtue: Post-Liberalism and the Human Future (Rowman & Littlefield International, 2016), Liberal World Order and Its Critics (Routledge, 2018) and The Demons of Liberal Democracy (Polity, 2019). Adrian is a New Statesman Contributing Writer.(Polity, 2019). Adrian is a New Statesman Contributing Writer.

Melis Kirtilli

Melis holds a BSc in Political Science: International Relations and Organisation from Leiden University in the Netherlands with a minor in Cultural Anthropology and Development Sociology. She is currently studying the MSc in Political Theory Research at the University of Oxford. Melis is interested in anarchist political theory, utopianism, participatory democracy, constitutional conventions, and common-pool resources. Her recent research focuses on the concepts of decentralisation, federalism, and confederation from an anarchist and normative perspective. She is also the Head of the Academic Department at the International Association for Political Science Students (IAPSS).

New Trustees

From time to time the charity needs to recruit new trustees. They have normally come forward through the personal recommendations of existing trustees. However we are always keen to hear from those who believe they could contribute to the charity’s activities and aims.